Courses

Spring 2022

2 Session

1. People Love Dead Jews by Dara Horn

Wednesdays 10:00am

January 19, 26

People Love Dead Jews:  A book that calls out for discussion.

Dara Horn has written a provocative book on how the world around us sees the Jewish people.  We will accept her invitation to read and discuss it over the course of 2 Wednesday mornings.  Reviews and additional Jewish texts will be shared when relevant.  Please join us for an informative and lively conversation.

$60.00Enroll - $60

2. Online Version: People Love Dead Jews by Dara Horn

Wednesdays at 11:30am

January 19, 26

See description above.

$60.00Enroll - $60

Semester Courses

3. Tuesday Morning Talmud

Tuesdays at 9:00am

February 1, 8, 15, 22 March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 April 5 April 11 - Make-up if needed

We will continue studying and discussing Talmudic stories, along with the analyses and study questions offered by Rabbi Jeffrey Rubenstein in his book,  In the Land of Truth.

$250.00Enroll - $250

4. Online Version: Tuesday Morning Talmud

Tuesdays at 10:30am Pacific; 11:30am MTN; 12:30pm Central; 1:30pm Eastern; 8:30pm Israel;

February 1, 8, 15, 22 March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 April 5 April 11 - Make-up if needed

We will study and discuss Talmudic stories, along with the analyses and study questions offered by Rabbi Jeffrey Rubenstein in his book,  In the Land of Truth.

$250.00Enroll - $250

Joan’s Class: Edith Pearlman, Short Stories

Mondays at 10:00am

January 31 February 7, 14, 21, 28 March 7, 14, 21, 28 April 4 - Make-up if needed

Joan’s Class:  Assorted Stories 1989-2017, by Edith Pearlman

We will read and discuss:

1. Hanging Fire T – JStor

2a. SwampMaiden – JStor

2b. Their Dan The Massachusetts Review, (Winter 1990) Vol 31 No. 4 pp. 499-510

3. The Lives of the Aunts The Iowa Review, Vol 21 No. 1 (Winter 1991) pps.76-100

4a. Sympathizer The Massachusetts Review Vol 36 (Spring 1995) pp.33-37

4b. Gaffer’s Delights The Antioch Review Vol. 56 No. 4 (Autumn 1998)  pp.433-437

4c. Prodigal Niece  

5.  Elder Jinks, Antioch Review Vol. 65 No. 4 (Fall 2007) pp. 689-698

6a.  Grossie  T

6b.  The Gentle Girl Iron Horse Literary Review, Volume 14.6 (Spring 2012) (pps. 62-67)

7.  S. Faux

8.  Just So

9. Fishwater  – JStor

10.

 

 

$250.00Enroll - $250

Online Version – Joan’s Class: Edith Pearlman, Recent Short Stories

Mondays at 11:30am Pacific 12:30pm MTN 1:30pm Central 2:30pm Eastern 9:30pm Israel

January 31 February 7, 14, 21, 28 March 7, 14, 21, 28 April 4 - Make-up if needed

Joan’s Class:  Recent Stories by Edith Pearlman

See Description and List of Stories above.

$250.00Enroll - $250